Painting Progress

Since I am the master of procrastination, I have no costume news aside from my cut wig sitting on my bookshelf waiting for styling and a wireframe for the horns and that I found the most lovely shade of violet bodypaint that I like wearing out to creep people out.

I’ve been making quite a bit of progress with my intro to painting class though and I’m pretty proud of what I’ve been able to accomplish. I’ve worked in acrylics once and never in oils and was absolutely petrified to try not only the technique, but also to use color. We started with a monochromatic palette of black, white, and burnt umber for a still life of bottles:

These are all shitty phone pictures, I apologize. The top is washed out from glare, lol. My second still life is still in the painting room and I keep forgetting to take a picture. >_>

The biggest assignment in this class is painting 20 self portraits over the course of a month (ideally one per day but summer semester is weird). This was frightening at first, not knowing wtf I’m doing and having to paint my own face with all its badness, lol. I really think I’ve learned the most from this assignment though (thanks Nolan, you’re always right, I’ll admit it). I’m still working on my 20 (13 done) but I decided I may as well post what I have, since I’m pretty damn proud of them so far. I cut out a few that are awful but they were peppered in with the ones I am sharing, so this is still a pretty accurate scale of my progress (starting from earliest):

So that’s where I am now. :> I’ll post more as I finish them.

~ by lalaface on July 16, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
